Parallel Project – Second Thoughts

My original ideas for my parallel project were around my garden but during Part 2 of the course I did a several pieces considering the sudden loss of my father when I was relatively young and my anger at him for leaving us. I felt that this produced powerful work and that I would like to explore this further, so I have abandoned the garden and changed my choice of project to continue with this idea.

Initially, I thought of images of my father, erased, removed, leaving. However, I don’t want this to be mawkish or depressing. I want this to be an exploration of my own feelings but also a metaphysical enquiry. I want to consider absence and memory, cycles of being, potentials. I have been doing small drawings in my sketchbooks in response to thinking about words, especially linked pairs of words.

  • absence/presence
  • enclosed/infinite
  • lost/found
  • remembered/forgotten
  • searching/finding
  • circle
  • void
  • vortex
  • threshold
  • way in, way out
  • complete/potential
  • whole/fragmented
  • inside/outside
  • final/unending
  • transition/unchanging

 

Some work may be based around the figure but some may look at ideas around the subconscious, dreams, distorted memory within dreams and space or place beyond the physical.

Leave a Reply

